Activities - Pavit Singh Nayar Memorial Trophy



The First edition of Pavit Singh Nayar Memorial T20 Cricket tournament for Men an inter-collegiate T20 Cricket Tournament for Men from 27th January 2015 to 31st January 2015 which was conducted at Guru Nanak college ground. This Trophy instituted in the memory of Pavit Singh a vibrant student of Guru Nanak College. 12 teams from various colleges in and around Chennai participated in the Tournament .The inaugural function of the tournament was held on 27th January 2015 at 8.00 a.m., Former Indian cricketer and talented leg –spinner who has represented India in the World cup, Shri L. Sivarama Krishnan presided over the function.

The Valedictory and Prize distribution Ceremony of “Pavit Singh Nayar Memorial Trophy”, an Inter-Collegiate T20 Cricket Tournament for men organized by Guru Nanak College was held on 31st Jan 2015 at Guru Nanak College Ground. Mr. Manjit Singh Nayar, General Secretary & Correspondent felicitated the Chief Guest Mr.M.Venkataramana with a memento and Dr.S. Natarajan, Vice Chairman, Sports Council presented a bouquet. The Welcome address was delivered by Dr.M.Selvaraj, Principal, Guru Nanak College. The tournament report was presented by Dr.J. Jayanthi, Member, Sports Council who briefed the classic batting, bowling and magnificent fielding skills displayed by all the participants during the 5 day match period in the ground. Dr.Suresh George, Member, Sports Council introduced the Chief Guest as a former legendary Right arm Off-Spinner who currently coaches young cricketers as a faculty for BCCI Specialist Academy, Chennai. The Chief Guest, Mr.M.Venkataramana highlighted that practice, dedication and hard work would take the cricketers to dazzling heights and remarked the dearth of good spinners and all-rounder’s in the country. He applauded the spirit of participation and distributed the prizes.

Guru Nanak College “A” team won the “Pavit Singh Nayar Memorial Trophy”, a Cash Prize of Rs. 20,000 and a bag pack for each player. RMK Vivekananda College won the Runner up Trophy, a Cash Prize of Rs. 10,000 and a bag pack for each player. The following were adjudged the best in various categories:

  • Best Batsman              : Mr. Shah Rukh Khan (Guru Nanak College)
  • Best Bowler                : Mr. Kiran Kashyap   (Guru Nanak College)
  • Best All Rounder        : Mr. Rahul  (Guru Nanak College)
  • Best Player                  : Mr. M. Adityan (R.K.M Vivekananda College)
  • Best Fielder                 : Mr. Satyanarayanan (Guru Nanak College)
  • Best Wicket Keeper    : Mr. Jerome (R.K.M Vivekananda College)
  • Player of the Series     : Mr. Aditya Ganesh (Guru Nanak College)
  • Man of the Match       : Mr. J. Vignesh (Guru Nanak College)

The Sponsors for the event was “Southern Motor Cycles

Dr.Gunita Arun Chandhok, Director of Guru Nanak College proposed the Vote of thanks and acknowledged the support and team spirit rendered by all the persons in making this tournament a remarkable and memorable one in the Sporting history of the College.